Sound Of The Sirens – revisited

South West Music Awards nominations
New album coming – “Long Way Down”

3 become 2

Sound of the Sirens began as a three piece featuring 3 girls, 2 guitars, and a stomp box. However this year, stop boxer Lisa had to chose between the band and her full time career as a teacher, and her pupils got lucky.

This leaves Abbe and Hannah with their two guitars, and a bass drum to carry on the Sirens’ song. They still manage to achieve some lovely harmonies with just the two of them.

S.W. music awards

The Exeter duo have been nominated in two categories at this year’s South West Music Awards:

  • Best Acoustic Act
  • Best EP/single of 2013

The event takes place on Fri 15th November at Charlie’s Live Lounge in Exeter
and tickets are available from the SWMA official site

New album due for release

Sound of the Sirens logo (for illustration only -not the sleeve art for the album)

Sound of the Sirens logo (for illustration only -not the sleeve art for the album)

Sound Of The Sirens are about to release a new album.

Long Way Down is currently scheduled for release on 20th December and includes 9 tracks as follows

  1. The Night Before
  2. In This Time
  3. Afraid Of The Dark
  4. Anything Less
  5. Up To The House
  6. Who We Are
  7. The Gift
  8. A Thousand Words
  9. Faith In Fire

I have an advance copy for review but luckily for you, I can embed a couple of preview tracks from the band’s Reverbnation profile.

Overall the girls have lost nothing of the excitement and passion that they achieved as a trio. There are similarities in style to Indigo Girls, and to a lesser extent, Mumford and Sons. I am also reminded of Suzanne Vega, and one of my favourite artists, Melanie Safka who most people will only know from a novelty single that hit the UK chart in 1971-72 called “Brand New Key” but who also did some utterly sublime and beautiful songs in her considerable career.

I will no doubt be playing something from this album on my radio show in the coming weeks. Looking forward to be able to add the links to where you can buy your copy as soon as it is released.




Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *